Biography

… the young clarinettist earned the highest praise. Her discipline, technical facility and talent for musical expresion were evidence of her distinctive musical profile…   more reviews

Leonie Gerlach

Leonie Gerlach first discovered her love for the bass clarinet while studying with Prof. Ernst Kindermann in Düsseldorf and Prof. Ralph Manno in Cologne. Since then, she has devoted herself especially to the instrument. In 1996 she won her first permanent position as bass clarinetist with the Theater der Stadt Ulm. In 1999 she moved to the position of solo bass clarinetist with the Badische Staatskapelle Karlsruhe. In Karlsruhe she has played nearly all of the important solo passages for bass clarinet in the operatic repertoire, particularly those in the large-scale works of Wagner, Shostakovich and Strauss. She has also appeared as a bass clarinet soloist in symphonic concerts with the Badische Staatskapelle.

Apart from her orchestral position, Leonie Gerlach is hard at work getting the bass clarinet better established in chamber music. She therefore plays in ensembles with widely varying instrumentation: for example, with string quartets, with wind ensembles and with marimba. In 2007 she founded the Duo Barifono together with the American pianist Karen Tanaka in order to bring to light rarely performed repertoire for bass clarinet and piano.

Leonie Gerlach has made a name for herself through her attention to contemporary music for bass clarinet. She was a frequent guest at the musikFabrik NRW under the direction of Johannes Kallitzke and took part in numerous projects of the European Music Project (EMP) in Ulm.

Stimulated by Leonie Gerlach's great passion for the bass clarinet, a number of composers have dedicated new works to her. Besides the experimentation with sound and noise so central to contemporary music, Gerlach places great importance on bringing out the many faceted, late romantic tonal beauty of the bass clarinet.

Since 2008, she has an assistant professorship in bass clarinet at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe.
© 2009-2017 by Leonie Gerlach         Photo: Diana Drechsler
Deutsch

Vita

… höchstes Lob verdiente sich dabei die junge Klarinettistin, deren Disziplin, technische Kompetenz und musikalisches Ausdrucksvermögen für ihr ausgeprägtes musikalisches Profil sprachen…   mehr Pressestimmen

Leonie Gerlach

Schon während ihres Studiums bei Prof. Ernst Kindermann in Düsseldorf und Prof. Ralph Manno in Köln entdeckte Leonie Gerlach ihre Liebe zur Bassklarinette. Sie konzentrierte sich seither konsequent auf dieses Instrument. 1996 trat sie ihre erste feste Stelle am Theater der Stadt Ulm als Bassklarinettistin an. 1999 wechselte sie als Solo-Bassklarinettistin zur Badischen Staatskapelle Karlsruhe. Dort spielte sie nahezu alle wichtigen Soli für Bassklarinette in der Opernliteratur, gerade auch in den groß besetzten Werken von Wagner, Schostakowitsch und Strauss. Mit der Badischen Staatskapelle trat sie auch als Solistin auf der Bassklarinette in Sinfoniekonzerten auf.

Neben ihrer Orchestertätigkeit arbeitet Leonie Gerlach daran, die Bassklarinette in der Kammermusik weiter zu etablieren. So spielt sie in unterschiedlichsten Besetzungen, z.B. mit Streichquartett, Bläserensemble oder Marimba zusammen. 2007 gründete sie mit der amerikanischen Pianistin Karen Tanaka das Duo Barifono, um selten gespielte Literatur für Bassklarinette und Klavier aufzuspüren und aufzuführen.

Leonie Gerlach hat sich durch die Pflege der zeitgenössischen Literatur für Bassklarinette einen Namen gemacht. Sie war häufig Gast bei der musikFabrik NRW unter der Leitung von Johannes Kallitzke und wirkte bei zahlreichen Projekten des Ulmer European Music Project (EMP) mit.

Angeregt durch Leonie Gerlachs große Leidenschaft für die Bassklarinette widmeten ihr zahlreiche Komponisten neue Werke. Neben dem in der zeitgenössischen Musik oft zentralen Experimentieren mit Klängen und Geräuschen ist es Leonie Gerlach ein wichtiges Anliegen, die facettenreiche, spätromantische Tonschönheit der Bassklarinette hervorzuheben.

Seit 2008 hat sie einen Lehrauftrag für Bassklarinette an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe.
© 2009-2017 by Leonie Gerlach         Foto: Diana Drechsler
English