Duo Barifono

The "Duo Barifono"



In 2007 Leonie Gerlach founded the "Duo Barifono" together with the American pianist Karen Tanaka. Their aim: to dedicate themselves specifically and intensively to the rarely performed repertoire for bass clarinet and piano. The artists want to broaden the circle of aficionados for this "Great Unknown" of the woodwinds. Leonie Gerlach and Karen Tanaka both provide the moderation for their concerts. With background information, anecdotes and quotes from historical figures, they bring the history of the bass clarinet closer to their audience.

The "Duo Barifono" mixes original compositions for the bass clarinet and piano (e.g., works by Schoeck, Bozza and Semler-Collery) with authorized arrangements (e.g., Hindemith and Martinu). Furthermore, the musicians perform their own arrangements, especially of literature for the cello and bassoon—instruments with registers similar to that of the bass clarinet. Their concert programs include classical and romantic music as well as jazz and modern sounds, and even tangos by Astor Piazzolla. A shared passion for opera led the "Duo Barifono" to the idea of playing condensed paraphrases of operas–a concept fitting to the history of the bass clarinet, since it was in the opera that the possibilities of the instrument were first recognized.

The "Duo Barifono" makes a point of showing off the romantic, original sound of the bass clarinet. That enables them to tap the full potential of the modern bass clarinet's tonal range, its extreme dynamics, and its variety of sound colors: from the velvety warmth or mysterious huskiness of its deepest range all the way to the luminous brilliance of its highest; from bell-like vehemence to the most virtuosic flexibility.

Audio and Video
© 2009-2017 by Leonie Gerlach         Photos: Janos Ecseghy
Deutsch

Duo Barifono

Das „Duo Barifono“



Im Jahr 2007 gründete Leonie Gerlach mit der amerikanischen Pianistin Karen Tanaka das „Duo Barifono“, um sich gezielt und intensiv dem selten gespielten Repertoire für Bassklarinette und Klavier zu widmen. Die Künstlerinnen wollen den Liebhaberkreis für die „große Unbekannte“ der Holzblasinstrumente erweitern. Leonie Gerlach und Karen Tanaka moderieren ihre Konzerte gemeinsam. Mit Hintergrundgeschichten, Anekdoten und Künstlerzitaten bringen sie ihrem Publikum die Geschichte der Bassklarinette näher.

Das „Duo Barifono“ mischt Originalkompositionen für Bassklarinette und Klavier (z.B. von Schoeck, Bozza und Semler-Collery) mit autorisierten Bearbeitungen (z.B. von Hindemith und Martinu). Außerdem spielen die beiden Musikerinnen eigene Bearbeitungen, vor allem solche aus der Fagott- und Celloliteratur, die aufgrund der ähnlichen Lage besonders gut geeignet ist. Ihre Duo-Programme umfassen dabei klassische und romantische Musik genauso wie jazzige und moderne Klänge, aber auch Tangomusik von Astor Piazzolla. Die gemeinsame Leidenschaft für die Oper brachte das „Duo Barifono“ außerdem auf die Idee, verstärkt Opernparaphrasen zu spielen – passend zur Geschichte der Bassklarinette. Denn es war die Oper, in der die Möglichkeiten des Instruments zuerst erkannt wurden.

Das „Duo Barifono“ legt großen Wert darauf, den romantischen und ursprünglichen Klang der Bassklarinette zu zeigen. Dabei schöpft es die Möglichkeiten der modernen Bassklarinette mit ihrem gewaltigen Tonumfang, ihrer extremen Dynamik und ihrer großen Klangfarbenvielfalt voll aus: von den mal samtig warmen, mal geheimnisvoll verrauchten tiefsten Lagen bis zur strahlenden Leuchtkraft in der Höhe; von glockenartiger Klang-Wucht bis hin zu virtuosester Beweglichkeit.

Audio und Video
© 2009-2017 by Leonie Gerlach         Fotos: Janos Ecseghy
English